only search B.P. Lama Jyotishavidya

Varga - Amsha







The 1/27 Portion

Twenty-seventh Divisional Chart

/ fruits of ritual practice /



bala + abala


Kurukulla Dancing in Her Mountain Grotto

Folio from an Ashtasahasrika Prajnaparamita Manuscript, c. 1100 Ce

metropolitan Museum of art =

Caveat Emptor * * Accuracy of divisional charts depends entirely on accuracy of birth time .**

Varga charts can be exceptionally useful.

However, if accurate birth time is not available, divisional charts are misleading, and should be ignored.

Raga_chandra_Jain_mini.jpgQUOTATION from BPHS

Sarga 6: Shloka-2 4-26.

Saptavimshamsha = Nakshatramsha = Bhamsha

" The Saptavimshamsha Lords are, respectively, the presiding deities of the 27 Nakshatra

  1. Dastra (Aśvini Kumar)
  2. Yama
  3. Agni
  4. Brahma
  5. Chandra
  6. Isa
  7. Adhiti
  8. Jiva
  9. Ahi
  10. Pitar
  11. Bhaga
  12. Aryama
  13. Surya
  14. Tvashtri
  15. Maruta
  16. Chakragni
  17. Mitra
  18. Vasava
  19. Rakshasa
  20. Varuna,
  21. Vishwadeva
  22. Govinda
  23. Vasu
  24. Varuna
  25. Ajapa
  26. Ahirbuddhnya
  27. Pushya.

These are for an odd Rashi. Count these deities in a reverse order for an even Rashi.

The Saptavimshamsha distribution commences from Mesha and other Movable Rashi for all the 12 Rashi."


Each rashi [30 degrees] is divided into 22 amsha [portion].

22 is a master number.

Each 1/22 portion is called /Bhamsha/ .

Another name for the 1/22 portion = /Nakshatra-amsha/

Size of 1 Bhamsa = 1 degree + 6 minutes + 40 seconds of arc.

Interpretive principle



In general, Professor Mangala is the leading significator of the D-27 varga.

Kuja's qualities in D-27 should be assessed, along with disposition of rulers of 3 and 9.

Field of Psychic Expectation for Specific Matters of

Radix D-1 = material matters, manifestation upon physical plane perceived by the five physical senses

Navamsha D-9 = psycho-emotional matters, manifestation upon astral plane perceived by the feelings and intuitive intelligence (approximately 22 distinctive clairvoyant and clairaudient senses can be defined)

Bhamsha D-27 = 3-cubed

principled understanding, discourse on sacred texts, repetitive handling of the sacred patterns, [such as sacred art] articulation of paradigmatic belief, manifestation upon the realm of thought [causal plane], world-totality perceived by mental faculties.

Apprehending faculties can be awakened through philosophical study and reflection, and also the belief systems can be observed from a neutral distance by those with developed ability to assess and manage thoughts.

Sahasranam-amsha D-108 = direct perception of divine presence through identity with it, achievement full divinity through elimination of concern with lower (causal, astral, material) particulate structures.


[How Readings Work] [Sample Sacred Jewels Ratna Recommendationn] [Seva]

Om_mani.jpgfile update = 28-May-2023

[Copyright 1994-2094 by Barbara Pijan Lama] [Contact] [How to Request a Jyotishavidya Reading]

Barbara Pijan Lama Jyotishavidya Vedic Astrology Surya Sun Chandra Moon Mangala Mars Budha Mercury Guru Jupiter Shukra Venus Shani Saturn Rahu Ketu Graha Planets Dasha Timeline Calendar Nakshatra Navamsha Marriage Children Treasury Career Spiritual Wisdom Cycles of re-Death and re-Birth

The information on , including all readings and reports, is provided for educational purposes only. Wishing you every happiness and continuing success in studies!